Committee of the Whole

The Chairman of the Council is the Chairman of the Committee of the Whole (COW), and all Councilmembers are part of the committee.

Show more

COW meets on the third Tuesday of each month, except during periods of Council recess, to consider measures pending in the committee and measures which have been reported and filed by other committees. During COW meetings, bills can also be introduced and referred to other committees.

Each bill and resolution reported by Council legislative committees are referred to COW to make sure the legislation is legally sufficient and complies with Council rules, and that its fiscal impact statement is sound.


Key Staff

Evan Cash

Blaine Stum
(202) 724-8092

LeKisha Jordan
(202) 724-8137

Bijan Verlin
(202) 724-4865

Aliyah McNeely
(202) 724-7130

Agencies Under This Committee

  • Board for the Condemnation of Insanitary Buildings
  • Board of Industrial Trades
  • Board of Review of Anti-Deficiency Violations
  • Board of Zoning Adjustment
  • Commemorative Works Committee
  • Commission and Office on Out of School Time Grants and Youth Outcomes
  • Commission on the Arts and Humanities
  • Common Lottery Board
  • Community Schools Advisory Committee
  • Construction Codes Coordinating Board
  • Council of the District of Columbia
  • Department of Buildings
  • District of Columbia Education Research Practice Partnership Review Panel
  • District of Columbia Educational Opportunity for Military Children State Council
  • District of Columbia Public Charter School Board
  • District of Columbia Public Schools
  • District of Columbia Retirement Board, including the District of Columbia Police Officers and Fire Fighters’ Retirement Fund and the Teachers’ Retirement Fund
  • District of Columbia State Athletics Commission
  • District Retiree Health Contribution
  • Healthy Youth and Schools Commission
  • Higher Education Licensure Commission
  • Historic Preservation Review Board
  • Interagency Coordinating Council
  • Interstate Medical Licensure Compact Commission
  • Law Revision Commission
  • Metropolitan Washington Airports Authority
  • Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments
  • National Capital Planning Commission
  • New Columbia Statehood Commission
  • Office of Budget and Planning
  • Office of the District of Columbia Auditor
  • Office of Planning
  • Office of the Deputy Mayor for Education
  • Office of the Ombudsman for Public Education
  • Office of the State Superintendent of Education (including Advisory Panel on Special Education, Early Childhood Development Coordinating Council)
  • Office of the Statehood Delegation
  • Office of the Student Advocate
  • Office of Zoning
  • Other Post-Employment Benefits Fund Advisory Committee
  • Pay-As-You-Go Capital
  • Public Charter School Credit Enhancement Fund Committee
  • State Board of Education
  • Students in the Care of D.C. Coordinating Committee
  • Tax Revision Commission
  • Tobacco Settlement Financing Corporation
  • University of the District of Columbia
  • Zoning Commission